banniere marrakesh-01

Marrakesh

Marrakesh is the second oldest Imperial city, known as the ‘Pearl of the South’ or the ‘red city’. It was founded in 1062 by the Almoravids from the Sahara and taken by the Almohads almost a century later. It was the Saadian dynasty during the 16th century, who gave Marrakesh the Saadian Tombs, the Ben Youssef Medersa and the Palais El-Badi, which today are the city’s most frequented touristic sights. In 1668 Marrakesh’s golden age ended when the Alaouites made Fez, and later Meknes, their capital. The rich history of Marrakesh reflects in its various quarters and monuments today.

Koutoubia
To mark his victory over the Almoravids in 1147, the Almohad sultan Abd el-Moumen set about building one of the largest mosques in the Western Muslim world. The minaret, a masterpiece of Islamic architecture, was completed during the reign his grandson of Yacoub el-Mansour. It later served as a model for the Giralda in Sevilla, as well as for the Hassan Tower in Rabat. The ‘Booksellers’ Mosque takes its name from the manuscripts souk that once took place around it. The minaret is the highest building in the city and only Muslims may enjoy the unforgettable view from the top of the building. The mosque has been restored to reveal the original pink colour of the brickwork.

Saadian Tombs
Although they were neglected for more than two centuries, the tombs of the Saadian dynasty constitute some of the finest examples of the Islamic architecture in Morocco. Their style is in complete contrast to the simplicity of Almohad architecture, as the Saadian princes lavished on funerary architecture the same splendor and magnificence that they gave to the other buildings.
Until 1917 there was a wall around the main entrance, built by the Alaouite sultan Moulay Ismail out of respect for the dead. Nowadays open to the public, we find the mausoleum of Ahmed el-Mansour and his successors and a flower garden symbolizing Allah’s paradise.

Ben Youssef Medersa
This Koranic school is not only one of the finest but also one of the largest in the Maghreb, with a capacity of 900 students. It was founded by the Merinid sultan Abou el-Hassan in the mid-14th century and was rebuilt by the Saadian sultan Moulay Abdallah in the 16th century, whose desire was to restore to Marrakech the prestige of an imperial capital and simultaneously to affirm his devotion to Allah.

Djemaa El Fna and its souks
Declared a World Heritage Site by UNESCO, this unique and extraordinary square has been for centuries the nerve centre of Marrakesh and the symbol of the city. In the morning there is a large market with medicinal plants, freshly squeezed oranges and all kinds of nuts and confectionery. Later in the day the square transforms in an arena of a gigantic open-air show with snake charmers, fortune tellers, monkey handlers, musicians, dancers and the air filled with smoke and aroma of grilled meat and spices.
Djemaa El Fna truly is a place of nonstop entertainment. On the North and East of the square you can enter the narrow streets into the most fascinating souks of Morocco. This labyrinth of streets displays a very wide variety of good, from fabric to jewellery and slippers, to traditional crafts of leatherwork, basketry and carpets, making a walk in the souks a true journey through time.

Bahia Palace
This palace, whose name means “Palace of the Favourite”, was built by two powerful grand viziers at the end of the 19th century. It consists of 2 parts, each built in different times: the older part, built by Si Moussa (vizier of sultan Sidi Mohammed ben Aberderrahman), and the new part, built by his son Ba Ahmed (vizier of Moulay Abdelaziz). They both consist of luxurious apartments and tree planted courtyards, each in a unique and different style.  Marshal Lyautey chose to live here during the Protectorate.

La Mamounia Hotel
Opened in 1929, the legendary La Mamounia Hotel stands on the site of a residence that belonged to the son of the Alaouite sultan Sidi Mohammed in the 18th century. All that remains of that residence is the magnificent 130.000m² (32 acre) garden, planted with olive and orange trees and containing a pavilion that was built by a Saadian ruler in the 16th century. The hotel was designed by Henri Prost and Antoine Marchisio, who achieved a pleasing combination of Art Deco and Moorish styles. Many famous people, including Winston Churchill, Richard Nixon and Orson Welles, have stayed in Marrakesh’s most famous and luxurious hotel.
http://www.mamounia.com/en/intro.htm

Majorelle Garden
In 1923 Jacquese Majorelle fell in love with Morocco and built himself a splendid Moorish villa around which he laid out a luxuriant garden. The house was later bought by Yves Saint Laurent and Pierre Bergé and its garden opened to the public in 1955. The bright blue of the house combined with numerous coloured tropical flowers, over 400 varieties of palm tree and 1.800 species of cactus, truly reflect a small paradise. The studio next to the house has been converted into a small museum with a selection of Moroccan crafts and paintings by Jacques Majorelle.
www.jardinmajorelle.com/ang/

Weather

Winter temperature = 10 - 20°C Summer temperature = 25 – 45°C

Hot and dry climate, with little humidity. Big night/day temperature difference

Festivals:

  • International Film Festival Winter

http://en.festivalmarrakech.info 

  • Popular Arts Festival  July

http://www.marrakechfestival.com/ 

  • International Humour Festival    June

http://marrakechdurire.com/

banniere marrakesh-01

Marrakech

Marrakech est la seconde plus ancienne ville impériale, connue comme la ‘Perle du Sud’ ou la ‘ville rouge’. Elle fut fondée en 1062 par les Almoravides du Sahara et fut prise par les Almohades près d’un siècle plus tard. Ce fut la dynastie des Saadiens au cours du 16ème siècle, qui donna Marrakech les Tombeaux Saadiens, la Medersa Ben Youssef et le Palais El Badi, qui sont aujourd'hui les sites touristiques les plus fréquentés de la ville. En 1668, cet âge d'or de Marrakech a pris fin lorsque les Alaouites firent de Fès, puis plus tard Meknès, leur capitale. L'histoire riche de Marrakech reflète aujourd’hui dans ses différents quartiers et monuments.

Koutoubia
Pour marquer sa victoire sur les Almoravides en 1147, le sultan almohade Abd el-Moumen se mit à la construction d’une des plus grandes mosquées du monde musulman occidental. Le minaret, un chef-d'œuvre de l'architecture islamique, fut achevé pendant le règne de son petit-fils Yacoub el-Mansour. Il servit de modèle pour la Giralda de Séville, ainsi que pour la Tour Hassan à Rabat. La mosquée 'des libraires’ tient son nom du souk de manuscrits ayant lieu autrefois autour d’elle. Le minaret est le plus haut bâtiment de la ville et seuls les musulmans peuvent profiter de la vue inoubliable du sommet de l'immeuble. La mosquée fut restaurée pour révéler la couleur rose initiale de la maçonnerie.

Tombeaux Saadiens
Bien qu’ils furent négligés pendant plus de deux siècles, les tombeaux des Saadiens constituent l’un des plus beaux exemples d’architecture islamique au Maroc. Leur style est en contraste complet avec la simplicité de l'architecture almohade, comme les princes saadiens prodigués sur l'architecture funéraire la même splendeur qu'ils donnèrent aux autres bâtiments. Jusqu'en 1917 il y avait un mur autour de l'entrée principale, construite par le sultan alaouite Moulay Ismail par respect pour les morts. Aujourd'hui ouvrir au public, on y trouve le mausolée de Ahmed el-Mansour et ses successeurs ainsi qu’un jardin de fleurs symbolisant le paradis d'Allah.

Medersa Ben Youssef
Cette école coranique est non seulement l’une des plus belles mais aussi l'une des plus importants dans le Maghreb, avec une capacité de 900 élèves. Elle fut fondée par le sultan mérinide Abou el-Hassan au milieu du 14ème siècle et fut reconstruite par le sultan saadien Moulay Abdallah au 16ème siècle, dont le désir était de rendre à Marrakech le prestige d'une capitale impériale et en même temps d'affirmer son dévouement à Allah.

Djemaa El Fna et ses souks
Déclaré site du patrimoine mondial par l'UNESCO, cette place unique et extraordinaire fut pendant des siècles le centre nerveux de Marrakech et le symbole de la ville. Dans la matinée, il ya un grand marché avec des plantes médicinales, des oranges fraîchement pressées et toutes sortes de noix et de confiserie. Au cours de la journée la place se transforme en une gigantesque arène de spectacles en plein air avec des charmeurs de serpents, diseurs de bonne aventure, les manutentionnaires de singe, musiciens, danseurs et l'air rempli de fumée et odeur de viande grillée et d'épices.
Djema El Fna est réellement une place d’animation permanente. Au côté Nord et Sud de la place vous pouvez entrer les ruelles étroites dans l’un des souks les plus fascinants du Maroc. Ce labyrinthe de rues présente une vaste variété de biens, tissus, bijoux, pantoufles, l'artisanat traditionnel de maroquinerie, vanneries et tapis; faire une promenade dans ces souks est un véritable voyage dans le temps.

Palais Bahia
Ce palais, dont le nom signifie ’Palais du Favori’, fut construit par deux grands vizirs puissants à la fin du 19ème siècle. Il se compose de 2 parties, chacune construite à des époques différentes: la partie la plus ancienne, construite par Si Moussa (vizir du sultan Sidi Mohammed ben Aberderrahman), et la nouvelle partie, construite par son fils Ba Ahmed (vizir de Moulay Abdelaziz). Les deux se composent d'appartements de luxe et des cours arborées, chacune dans un style unique et différent. Le Maréchal Lyautey a choisit de vivre ici pendant le Protectorat.

Hôtel La Mamounia
Ouvert en 1929, le légendair hôtel La Mamounia se trouve sur le site d'une résidence qui appartenait au fils du Sultan alaouite Sidi Mohammed au 18ème siècle. Tout ce qui reste de cette magnifique résidence sont les  130.000m² de jardin, arboré d'oliviers et d'orangers et contenant un pavillon qui fut construit par un souverain saadien au 16ème siècle. L'hôtel a été conçu par Henri Prost et Antoine Marchisio, qui a réalisé une combinaison agréable de l'Art Déco et de styles mauresque. Beaucoup de gens célèbres, telles que Winston Churchill, Richard Nixon et Orson Welles, ont séjourné dans l'hôtel le plus célèbre et luxueux de Marrakech. L’hôtel fut conçu par Henri Prost et Antoine Marchisio, qui
réalisèrent une plaisante combinaison d’Art Déco et de styles mauresque. De nombreux gens célèbres, dont Winston Churchill, Richard Nixon et Orson Welles, ont séjourné dans l'hôtel le plus célèbre et luxueux de Marrakech.
http://www.mamounia.com/fr/intro.htm

Jardin Majorelle
En 1923 Jacques Majorelle tomba amoureux du Maroc et il se construisit une splendide villa mauresque atour de laquelle il planta un luxuriant jardin. La maison fut achetée par Yves Saint Laurent et Pierre Bergé et ouvra ses portes au publique en 1955. Le bleu lumineux de la maison combiné avec de nombreuses fleurs tropicales aux couleurs éclatantes, plus de 400 variétés de palmier et 1.800 espèces de cactus, reflètent réellement un petit paradis. Le studio à côté de la maison a été transformé en un petit musée avec une sélection d'artisanat marocain et des peintures de Jacques Majorelle.
http://www.jardinmajorelle.com/

Météo

Température hiver = 10 - 20°C. Température été = 25 – 45°C.

Climat chaud et sec avec peu d’humidité. Grande différence température jour/nuit.

Festivals:

  • Festival International du Film  hiver

Site web officiel du festival

  • Festival national des Arts Populaires  juillet

Site web officiel du festival

  • Festival Marrakech du Rire  juin

Site web officiel du festival