banniere agadir-01

Agadir

Agadir is unlike any other Moroccan city, a result of the 1960 earthquake which effectively destroyed the entirety of the city. It was the most destructive and deadliest earthquake in the history of Morocco measuring 5.7 on the Richter scale, killing one third of the Agadir’s population and leaving 35,000 people homeless. Two days after the earthquake, which occurred on the evening of February 29th, the whole city was evacuated to prevent the spread of disease. The city was then completely rebuilt 3km south of its original location. Although Agadir does not have the charm of traditional Moroccan towns, thanks to its long beach, wide open spaces and modernity it is the country’s second touristic destination after Marrakesh.

Kasbah
At an altitude of 236m (775ft), the hilltop ruins of the Kasbah, within restored ramparts, offer a stunning view of Agadir and its bay. Built by Mohammed Ech Cheikh in 1540 to keep the Portuguese fortress under surveillance, it was restored in 1752 by Moulay Abdallah and accommodated a garrison of renegade Christians and Turkish mercenaries.

Beach
South of the city in a bay with 9km (6miles) of fine sand, is Agadir’s main attraction, the sheltered beach. It offers one of the safest swimming of Morocco’s Atlantic coast. The city enjoys 300 days of sunshine a year, making this an ideal destination for holidaymakers. Many cafés, hotels and restaurants line the beach, where you can rent sailboards, jet-skis, water scooters or enjoy a ride on horses or camels.

Port
Located on the edge of the city, the port consists of a large complex with about 20 canning and freezing factories where the produce of the sea is processed. As Morocco’s foremost fishing port, an auction takes place every afternoon in the fish market. Agadir also exports citrus fruit, fresh vegetables, canned food and ore.

Nouveau Talborj
Agadir’s modern centre, the Nouveau Talborj, was built south to the old city. The main streets of the city centre run parallel to the beach. Pedestrian areas, lined with restaurants, shops and crafts outlets are concentrated around Boulevard Hassan II and Avenue du Prince Moulay Abdallah. There are some fine modern buildings, including the post office, the town hall and the stately law courts. The city’s bright white buildings are interspersed by many gardens.

Weather

Winter temperature = average 15 °C Summer temperature = average 25 °C

High humidity level, very few rain throughout the year

Festivals:

  • Timitar Festival of Berber and World Music  July

http://www.festivaltimitar.ma/

banniere agadir-01

Agadir

Agadir est différente de toutes les autres villes marocaines, suite au tremblement de terre de 1960 ayant détruit efficacement l’ensemble de la ville. C’était le tremblement de terre le plus destructeur et mortel dans l’histoire du Maroc, mesurant 5.7 sur l’échelle de Richter, tuant un tiers de la population d’Agadir et laissant 35.000 personnes sans abri. Deux jours après le tremblement de terre, ayant eu lieu dans la soirée du 29 février, toute la ville fut évacuée afin d’empêcher la propagation de maladies. La ville fut entièrement reconstruite à 3km au sud de son emplacement initial.  Bien qu’Agadir n’ait pas le charme des villes marocaines traditionnelles, grâce à sa longue plage, de grands espaces et de la modernité, c'est la deuxième destination touristique du pays après Marrakech.

Kasbah
A une altitude de 236m, les ruines de la Kasbah en haut de la colline, avec ses remparts restaurés, offrent une vue magnifique sur Agadir et sa baie. Construit par Mohammed Ech Cheikh en 1540 pour maintenir la forteresse portugaise sous surveillance, la Kasbah a été restaurée en 1752 par Moulay Abdallah et logeait une garnison de chrétiens renégats et de mercenaires turcs.

Plage
Au sud de la ville dans une baie avec 9km (6 milles) ou de sable fin, l'attraction principale d'Agadir, la plage abritée. Elle offre l'une des baignades les plus sûrs de la côte Atlantique du Maroc. La ville bénéficie de 300 jours d'ensoleillement par an, ce qui fait d’elle une destination idéale pour les vacanciers. De nombreux cafés, hôtels et restaurants bordent la plage, où vous pouvez louer des planches à voile, jet ski, scooters des mers ou profiter d'une balade à cheval ou à dos de chameau.

Port
Situé aux abords de la ville, le port se compose d'un grand complexe avec environ 20 conserveries et usines de congélation où les produits de la mer sont traités. Etant le principal port de pêche du Maroc, une vente aux enchères a lieu tous les après-midi dans le marché de poisson. Agadir exporte aussi des agrumes, des légumes frais, conserves alimentaires et du minerai.

Nouveau Talborj
Le centre modern d’Agadir, le nouveau Talborj, était construit au sud de l’ancienne ville.
Agadir’s modern centre, the Nouveau Talborj, was built south to the old city. Les principales rues du centre-ville sont parallèles à la plage. Zones piétonnes, bordées de restaurants, boutiques et points de vente d'artisanat sont concentrées autour du boulevard Hassan II et l'avenue du Prince Moulay Abdallah. Il ya quelques bâtiments modernes haut de gamme, y compris le bureau de poste, la mairie et le majestueux palais de justice. Les bâtiments blancs sont inter semés de nombreux jardins.

Météo

Température hiver = moyenne 15 °C. Température été = moyenne 25 °C.

Taux d'humidité élevé, très peu de pluie au cours de l'année

Festivals:

  • Festival Timitar  - musiques berberes et musiques du monde  juin

Site web officiel du festival