fes

Fez

Located between the fertile lands of the Saïs and the forests of the Middle Atlas, Fez is the oldest of Morocco’s imperial cities. Today Morocco’s third largest city and declared a World Heritage Site by UNESCO, Fez is the embodiment of the country’s history and its spiritual and religious capital. Its medina is believed to be the world's largest contiguous car-free urban area.

Bou Inania & Attarine Medersa
The Bou Inania Medersa is the largest and most sumptuously decorated medersa ever built by the Merinids. Constructed between 1350 and 1355 by the sultan Abou Inan, it is the only medersa in Morocco that has a minbar (pulpit) and a minaret. A mosque, cathedral, students’ residence and school combined, its functions have determined its architectural complexity. It is one of the few Islamic religious buildings that is open to non-Muslims.
The Attarine Medersa stands in the neighbourhood of the Karaouine mosque and the Attarine souk. Built between 1323 and 1325 by the Merinid sultan Abou Saïd Othman it is, together with the Bou Inania medersa, considered to be one of the wonders of Moorish architecture.

Karaouine Mosque
Established in 859, the Karaouine Mosque is one of the oldest and most illustrious mosques in the western Muslim world. The first university to be established in Morocco, it was frequented by such learned men as Ibn Khaldoun, Ibn el-Khatib, Averroës and even Pope Sylvester (909-1003). It is still considered to be one of the main spiritual and intellectual centres of Islam and remains the seat of the Muslim university of Fez.

The Tanneries
Often located near watercourses, and usually some distance from the residential quarters because of the unpleasant odours that they produced, tanneries made a substantial contribution to a city’s economy. Tanning is a craft with traditions that go back thousands of years. The process turns animal hides into soft, rot-proof leather. Once tanned, the hides are passed on to the leatherworkers.
The Chouara, or Tanners’ Quarter, has been located near Wadi Fez since the Middle Ages. Its dyeing vats, in the midst of houses in the Blida quarter, are best seen from neighbouring terraces. Although pervaded by an unpleasantly strong smell, this is the most lively and picturesque of all the souks in Fez.

Mellah
Fez’ Jewish quarter owes its name ‘Mellah’ from the Arabic word for ‘salt’, the ground on which the quarter was founded and is thought to be the first Jewish enclave to be established in Morocco. Originally located near the Karaouine district, it was moved near the palace by the Merinid rulers during the 13th century so they could offer the Jewish community greater security, in return for an annual levy.  The present boundaries of the Mellah were established only at the end of the 18th century and the restricted available space during the time of Alaouite sultan Moulay Yazid, shows in the striking architectural contrast with today’s Muslim quarters. The Mellah’s visiting high lights are the Danan synagogue, the former Jewish goldsmiths’ jewellery souk, Bab el Mellah and the Jewish cemetery.

Bab Boujeloud
Enclosed within high walls, the large Place Pacha el Baghdadi links the medina and Fez Jdid. On one side of the square stands Bab Boujeloud, a monumental Moorish gate, built in 1913, and the principal entrance into Fez el Bali. After losing its effectiveness as defence, the fortified gates of Fez became to be seen as decorative buildings contributing to the city’s prestige. From the entrance way a glimpse can be caught of the minaret of the Bou Inania Medersa.

The souks
The souks of Fez are laid out in a logical but relatively complex labyrinth around the Karaouine mosque. Makers and sellers are grouped together according to the products that they offer, and every type of craft has its own street. Built by Abou Yacoub Youssef (1286-1307) the Sidi Frijthe maristan once stood in a square near the Henna souk. It was the largest mental asylum in the Merinid Empire and also functioned as a hospital for storks. In the covered streets with luxury goods shops near the Zaouia of Moulay Idriss we find the kissaria, which marks the exact centre of the souks.

Weather

Winter temperature = 5 - 15°C Summer temperature = 25 – 35°C

Mild, rainy winters and hot, dry summers, with a high humidity level

Festivals:

  • World Sacred Music Festival  June
  • Sufi Culture Festival  June

http://www.fesfestival.com

fes

Fès

Situé entre les terres fertiles du Saïs et les forêts du Moyen Atlas, Fès est la plus ancienne des villes impériales du Maroc. Aujourd’hui la troisième plus grande ville du Maroc et déclaré un site du patrimoine mondial par l'UNESCO, Fès est l'incarnation de l'histoire du pays et sa capitale spirituelle et religieuse. Sa Medina est considérée comme la plus grande zone urbaine du monde sans voiture.

Medersa Attarine & Bou Inania
La Medersa Bou Inania est la plus grande et la plus somptueusement décorée des medersas jamais construites par les Mérinides. Construite entre 1350 et 1355 par le sultan Abou Inan, c'est la seule medersa au Maroc ayant un minbar (pupitre) et un minaret. Une mosquée, la cathédrale, la résidence des élèves et de l'école combinée, ses fonctions ont déterminé sa complexité architecturale. C'est un des rares bâtiments religieux islamiques qui est ouvert aux non-musulmans.
La Medersa Attarine se trouve dans le quartier de la mosquée Karaouine et du souk Attarine. Construite entre 1323 et 1325 par le sultan méridien Abou Saïd Othman la medersa est, ensemble avec la Bou Inania, considérée comme l'une des merveilles de l'architecture mauresque.

Mosquée Karaouine
Etablie en 859, la mosquée Karaouine est la plus ancienne et plus illustre des mosquées dans le monde musulman occidental. La première université établie au Maroc, elle fut fréquentée par des savant telles que Ibn Khaldoun, Ibn el-Khatib, Averroès et même le pape Sylvestre (909-1003). Elle est considérée comme l’un des principaux centres spirituels et intellectuels de l’Islam et reste le siège de l’université musulmane de Fès.

Les Tanneries
Souvent situées proche des cours d’eau et généralement à une certaine distance des quartiers résidentiels à cause de l’odeur désagréable qu’elles produisent, les tanneries ont apportées une contribution substantielle à l'économie de la ville. Le tannage est un métier avec des traditions remontant à des milliers d'années. Le processus transforme les peaux d'animaux en cuir doux et imputrescible. Une fois tannées, les peaux sont transmises aux maroquiniers.
Le Chouara, ou quartier des tanneurs, est situé près de Wadi Fès depuis le Moyen Age. Ses cuves de teinture, au milieu de maisons dans le quartier Blida, sont mieux visibles de terrasses voisines. Bien qu’il est envahi par une forte odeur désagréable, c'est le plus animé et pittoresque de tous les souks de Fès.

Mellah
Le quartier juif de Fès doit son nom ‘Mellah’ au mot arabe pour ‘sel’, comme les terres sur lesquelles le quartier est fondé et est pensée être la première enclave juive établie au Maroc. Initialement situé près du quartier Karaouine, il a été déplacé à proximité du Palais par les souverains mérinides au cours du 13ème siècle afin qu'ils puissent offrir à la communauté juive une plus grande sécurité, en contrepartie d'une redevance annuelle. Les limites actuelles du Mellah ont été établis seulement à la fin du 18ème siècle et l'espace restreint disponible à l'époque de Sultan Alaouite Moulay Yazid, se montre dans le contraste architectural remarquable avec des quartiers musulmans d'aujourd'hui. Les incontournables du Mellah sont la synagogue Danan, le souk des anciens orfèvres juifs, Bab el Mellah et le cimetière juif.

Bab Boujeloud
Enfermée à l'intérieur de hautes murailles, la grande place Pacha el Baghdadi relie la Medina et Fès Jdid. D'un côté de la place se dresse Bab Boujloud, une porte mauresque monumentale, construite en 1913, et l'entrée principale à Fès el Bali. Après avoir perdu son efficacité comme défense, les portes fortifiées de Fès furent considérées comme bâtiments décoratifs qui contribuent au prestige de la ville. De la porte d'entrée un aperçu peut être capturé du minaret de la Medersa Bou Inania.

Les souks
Les souks de Fès sont dispersés dans un labyrinthe logique, mais relativement complexe autour de la mosquée Karaouine. Les fabricants et les vendeurs sont regroupés fonction des produits qu'ils offrent, et chaque type de métier a sa propre rue. Construit par Abou Yacoub Youssef (1286-1307) le maristan de Sidi Frijthe se trouvait autrefois sur une place près du souk du henné. C'était le plus grand asile psychiatrique dans l'empire mérinide et fonctionnait aussi comme hôpital pour les cigognes. Dans les rues couvertes avec des boutiques de luxe, à proximité de la Zaouia de Moulay Idriss, nous trouvons la kissaria, qui marque le centre exact des souks.

Météo

Température hiver = 5 - 15°C. Température été = 25 – 35°C.

Hivers doux et pluvieux et étés chauds et secs, avec un taux d'humidité élevé

Festivals:

  • Festival des Musiques Sacrées du Monde  juin
  • Festival des Nuits Soufies  juin

Site web officiel du festival