banniere tager

Tangier

The history of Tangier has been shaped by the sea and by its strategic location on the Straits of Gibraltar. Since the 14th century Tangier has been captured by the Portuguese, the Spanish, the English, the Alaouïtes and the French before being returned to Morocco after the independence in 1956. Its location and history make that Tangier has a special character that sets it apart from the other Moroccan cities. It has drawn artists and writers – Henri Matisse, Paul Bowles – and thanks to its port Tangier is Europe’s door into Africa. 

Kasbah
This fortified citadel dating from the twelfth century is built inside the Medina, on the heights of Tangier, overlooking the rest of the city. Inside, there are prestigious residences that have preserved all their glory. Dar el Makhzen, a former sultan’s palace dating from 1648, today houses a museum of Moroccan crafts and antiquities. The Kasbah Mosque has an unusual octagonal minaret with coloured tiles which present form dates from the 19th century. With its quiet streets and friendly inhabitants, the Kasbah has a special character and its walls and gates command stunning views over the strait, the bay and the city.

Grand Socco
The link between the Medina and the Ville Nouvelle (New Town) is the Grand Socco Square, which was renamed ‘Place du 9 Avril 1947’ in memory of the speech that Mohammed V made in support of the independence. The square comes alive in the evenings, when vendors spread out their wares on the ground and a colourful market takes place just above the square. The minaret of the Sidi Bou Abib Mosque (1917), decorated with polychrome tiles, overlooks the square from the southwest.

Café Hafa
The Café Hafa opened in 1920, and neither the furniture nor the décor seem to have changed since then. Located on the edge of a cliff facing the Atlantic Ocean, it offers a breathtaking view of the strait. An ideal place for mint tea, coffee or a smoke, lots of writers and singers have come here: William Burroughs, Sean Connery, Paul Bowles, The Beatles and The Rolling Stones.

Place de France & Place de Faro
Place de France is a major meeting place for the inhabitants of Tangier. The Café de Paris, which opened in 1920, was the first establishment to open outside the Medina. Once Tangier’s most fashionable café, Paul Bowles, Tennessee Williams and Jean Genet were among its regular customers, as well as foreign diplomats. Today it remains a hub of city life.
Very near Place de France is Place de Faro (named after the Portuguese town twinned with Tangier in 1984), complete with cannons. It offers a view of the Medina and of ferry traffic in the harbour and the strait of Gibraltar.

Hercules Caves
We find ‘Les Grottes d’Hercules’ (Hercules Caves) about 10 km (6miles) West of Tangier. At the place known as Achakar, the sea has carved impressive caves out of the cliff. According to legend, Hercules slept here before performing one of his 12 labours. The entrance to the caves, facing onto the sea, is a cleft shaped resembling the map of Africa.
Further south, beneath the level of the caves, are ‘the Ruins of Cotta’ (1st century BC to 3rd AD). With vats for salting fish, making garum and producing purple dye, this was one of the largest industrial centres of the Punic-Mauritanian period.

Cape Spartel
Close to Hercules Caves, on the most north-westerly point of Africa, stands a lighthouse at the cape. It was built in 1864 on Cape Spartel to prevent the many shipwrecks that occurred in the rough waters of the ocean. From beneath the lighthouse, there is a breathtaking view where the Mediterranean Sea and the Atlantic Ocean meet. On clear days you can see the strait and coast of Spain from Cape Trafalgar to the rock of Gibraltar.

Beaches
The bay of Tangier is a grand crescent that stretches for almost 4km (2.5miles). Due to the closeness to the city and the pollution, the beaches on the East and Westside of Tangier are better fit for swimming and sunbathing. On the Westside we find beautiful beaches between Cape Spartel and Hercules Caves and East to Tangier there are the coves of Cap Malabata, the beaches at Sidi Khankroucht and Ksar es-Seghir. The beach at Mrissa, ‘plage des Amiraux’ and Wadi Aliane are also worthwhile.

Weather

Winter temperature = 8 - 18°C Summer temperature  = 20 – 30°C

Mediterranean climate with rainy winters and high humidity level throughout the year

Festivals:

  • Tanjazz  September

http://www.tanjazz.org/eng/index.htm

banniere tager

Tanger

L’histoire du Tanger a été formée par la mer et son emplacement stratégique sur le détroit de Gibraltar. Depuis le 14ème siècle, Tanger a été saisie par les Portugais, les Espagnols, les Anglais, les Alaouites et les Français avant d'être retourné au Maroc après l'indépendance en 1956. Son emplacement et l'histoire font que Tanger a un caractère spécial qui la distingue des autres villes marocaines. Elle a attiré des artistes et des écrivains - Henri Matisse, Paul Bowles - et grâce à son port, Tanger est la porte de l'Europe vers l'Afrique.

Kasbah
Cette citadelle fortifiée datant du XIIe siècle est construite à l'intérieur de la médina, sur les hauteurs de Tanger, donnant sur le reste de la ville. A l'intérieur, il ya de prestigieuses demeures qui ont préservées toute leur gloire. Dar el Makhzen, un ancien palais de sultan datant de 1648, abrite aujourd'hui un musée d'artisanat et d'antiquités marocaines. La Mosquée de la Kasbah dispose d'un minaret octogonal inhabituel avec des tuiles colorées et sa forme actuelle date du 19ème siècle. Avec ses rues tranquilles et ses habitants chaleureux, la Kasbah a un caractère particulier et ses murs et portails commandent une vue imprenable sur le détroit, la baie et la ville.

Grand Socco
Le lien entre la Médina et la Ville Nouvelle est la place du Grand Socco, qui fut rebaptisée ‘Place du 9 Avril 1947’ en mémoire du discours que fait par Mohammed V à l’appuie de l'indépendance. La place s'anime le soir, lorsque les vendeurs étalent leurs marchandises sur le sol et un marché coloré a lieu juste au-dessus de la place. Le minaret de la mosquée Bou Abib Sidi (1917), orné de tuiles polychromes, donne sur la place du sud-ouest.

Café Hafa
Le Café Hafa ouvrit ces portes en 1920, et ni le mobilier, ni le décor semble avoir changé depuis. Situé sur le bord d'une falaise face à l'océan Atlantique, la terrasse du café offre une vue splendide sur le détroit. Un lieu idéal pour un thé à la menthe, un café ou une cigarette, beaucoup d'écrivains et chanteurs sont venus ici: William Burroughs, Sean Connery, Paul Bowles, les Beatles et les Rolling Stones.

Place de France & Place de Faro
La Place de France est un lieu de rencontres important pour les habitants de Tanger. Le Café de Paris, qui ouvrit en 1920, fut le premier établissement à ouvrir en dehors de la Medina. Autrefois le café le plus branché de Tanger, Paul Bowles, Tennessee Williams et Jean Genet étaient parmi ses clients réguliers, ainsi que des diplomates étrangers. Aujourd’hui encore il demeure le centre de la ville citadine.
A proximité de la Place de France se trouve la Place de Faro avec ses cannons (nommée après la ville portugaise jumelée  avec Tanger en 1984). Elle offre une vue sur la Medina et du trafic des ferries dans le port et le détroit de Gibraltar.

Grottes d’Hercules
On trouve les Grottes d’Hercules à environs 10km Ouest de Tanger. A l’endroit connu comme Achakar, la mer a creusé des grottes impressionnantes dans la falaise. Selon la légende, Herculas dormit ici avant d’effectuer l’un de ses 12 travaux. L’entrée aux grottes, face à la mer, est une fente ayant une forme ressemblante à la carte d’Afrique. Plus au Sud, au-dessous du niveau des grottes, se trouvent ‘les Ruines de Cotta’ (1ier siècle avant JC au 3ème après JC). Avec des cuves de salage de poisson, produisant du garum et du colorant violet, ce fut l’un des plus grand centres industriels de l'époque punique-mauritanienne.

Cap Spartel
Près des Grottes d’Hercules, à l’endroit le plus au nord-ouest de l’Africa, se trouve un phare au cap. Il fut construit en 1864 sur Cap Spartel afin d’empêcher les nombreux naufrages ayant eus lieu dans les eaux rugueuses de l’océan.  De sous le phare, il ya une vue époustouflante où la Méditerranée et l'Océan Atlantique se rencontrent. Par temps clair, vous pouvez voir le détroit et la côte de l'Espagne du Cap Trafalgar au rocher de Gibraltar.

Plages
La baie de Tanger est un grand croissant qui s’étend sur près de 4km. En raison de la proximité de la ville et de la pollution, les plages côté Est et Ouest de Tanger sont mieux adaptés pour nager et bronzer. Sur le côté Ouest on trouve de belles plages entre le Cap Spartel et Grottes d'Hercules et au côté Est  de Tanger, il ya les criques du Cap Malabata, les plages de Sidi Khankroucht et Ksar es-Seghir. La plage de Mrissa, 'plage des Amiraux’ et Wadi Aliane valent également la peine.  

Météo

Température hiver = 8 - 18°C. Température été = 20 – 30°C.

Climat méditerranéen avec hivers pluvieux et taux d’humidité élevé au cours de l’année.

Festivals:

  • Tanjazz  septembre

Site web officiel du festival