banniere rabat

Rabat

Rabat is an attractive city of domes and minarets, sweeping terraces, wide avenues and green spaces. It is markedly more pleasant than some other Moroccan cities and is also undergoing fundamental change. Facing Salé, its ancient rival, across Wadi Bou Regreg, Rabat was made Morocco’s political and administrative capital in 1912 by Marshal Lyautey. Today also the country’s financial capital, it is the main university town and the second-largest metropolis after Casablanca.

Oudaya Kasbah
The Kasbah takes its name from the Oudayas, an Arab tribe with a warrior past that was settled here by Moulay Ismaïl (1672-1727) to protect the city from the threat of rebel tribes. Part of the city walls that surround this “fortress”, built on the top of a cliff, date from the Almohad period (1147-1248). The city walls surrounding the Kasbah were built in 1195 by Yacoub el mansour after his victory over Alfonso III. Sights to visit in and around the Kasbah: Bab Oudaya, the El Atika mosque, Café Maure and the Andalusian Garden.

Mohammed V Mausoleum
Raised in memory of Mohammed V, the father of Moroccan independence, this majestic building was commissioned by his son, Hassan II. It was designed by the Vietnamese architect Vo Toan and built with the help of 400 Moroccan craftsmen. The group of buildings that make up the mausoleum of Mohammed V include a mosque and a museum devoted to the history of the Alaouite dynasty. The mausoleum itself, in white Italian marble, stands on a platform 3.5m (11.5ft) high. Entry is through a wrought-iron door that opens onto a stairway leading to the dome beneath which lies the sarcophagus of Mohammed V.

Hassan Tower
Overlooking Wadi Bou Regreg from the hill it stands on since more than eight centuries, the Hassan Tower is one of the city’s most prestigious monuments and a great emblem of Rabat. It is the unfinished minaret of the Hassan mosque, built by Yacoub el Mansour around 1196. After his death in 1199, the unfinished mosque fell into disrepair and 1755 an earthquake destroyed everything but the mosque’s minaret. Today’s remains still show the intended grandeur of the mosque. It was to have surpassed the height of the Koutoubia Mosque in Marrakesh and the Giralda in Seville, but it was never completed.  It was from the Hassan Tower that Mohammed V conducted the first Friday prayers after independence was declared 18th of November 1956.

Dar el Makhzen & Mechouar
An extensive complex enclosed within its own walls, the Dar el Makhzen (Royal Palace) is inhabited by about 2000 people. Built on the site of an 18th century royal residence, the current palace was completed in 1864, but was constantly enlarged thereafter. The palace now houses the offices of Moroccan government, the Supreme Court, the Prime Minister’s offices, the Ministry of Habous (responsible for religious organizations), an extensive garden and the El Fas Mosque. The Mechouar, a place of public assembly, is the venue for major gatherings. Traditionally the king would reside in the former harem, but King Mohammed VI stays in his own private residence.

Weather

Winter temperature = 8 - 18°C Summer temperature = 15 – 30°C.

Mild, rainy winters and hot summers with high humidity level

Festivals:

  • Mawazine Festival Rhythms of the World  May

Mawazine Festival Rhythms of the World

banniere rabat

Rabat

Rabat est une ville attrayante de dômes et de minarets, terrasses panoramiques, de larges avenues et des espaces verts. Il est nettement plus agréable que d'autres villes marocaines et est également en pleine mutation. Face à Salé, son ancien rival, à travers Wadi Bou Regreg, Rabat fut nommée capitale politique et administrative du Maroc en 1912 par le maréchal Lyautey. Aujourd'hui encore la capitale financière du pays, c’est la principale ville universitaire et la seconde métropole après Casablanca.

Kasbah Oudaya

La Kasbah tient son nom des Oudayas, une tribu arabe avec un passé guerrier qui fut installée ici par Moulay Ismaïl (1672-1727) pour protéger la ville contre la menace des tribus rebelles. Une partie des murs de la ville qui entourent cette ‘forteresse construite sur ​​le sommet d'une falaise, datent de la période almohade (1147-1248). Les remparts qui entourent la Kasbah furent construits en 1195 par Yacoub el Mansour après sa victoire sur Alfonso III. Sites à visiter dans et autour de la Kasbah: Bab Oudaya, la mosquée El Atika, Café Maure et le jardin andalou.

Mausolée Mohammed V

Érigé en mémoire de Mohammed V, père de l'indépendance du Maroc, ce majestueux bâtiment fut commandité par son fils, Hassan II. Il a été conçu par l'architecte vietnamien Vo Toan et construit avec l'aide de 400 artisans marocains. Le groupe de bâtiments qui composent le mausolée de Mohammed V comprend une mosquée et un musée consacré à l'histoire de la dynastie Alaouite. Le mausolée lui-même, en marbre blanc italien, se trouve sur une plate-forme de 3,5m de hauteur. L’entrée est par une porte en fer forgé qui s'ouvre sur un escalier menant au dôme sous lequel se trouve le sarcophage de Mohammed V.

Tour Hassan

Donnant sur Wadi Bou Regreg de la colline sur laquelle elle se trouve depuis plus de huit siècles, la Tour Hassan est l'un des monuments les plus prestigieux de la ville et un grand emblème de Rabat. C’est le minaret inachevé de la mosquée Hassan, construite par Yacoub el Mansour autour de 1196.  Après sa mort en 1199, la mosquée inachevée tomba en ruines et 1755, un tremblement de terre détruit tout sauf le minaret de la mosquée. Aujourd’hui les restes montrent encore la grandeur prévue pour la mosquée. Elle devait dépasser l’hauteur de la mosquée Koutoubia à Marrakech et de la Giralda à Séville, mais ne fut jamais achevée. C'est à partir de la Tour Hassan que Mohammed V mena la première prière du vendredi après que l'indépendance soit déclarée le 18 novembre 1956.

Dar el Makhzen & Mechouar

Un vaste complexe enfermé dans ses propres murs, le Dar el Makhzen (palais royal) est habité par environ 2000 personnes. Construit sur le site d'une résidence royale du 18ème siècle, le palais actuel fut achevé en 1864, mais a été constamment agrandi depuis. Le palais loge aujourd'hui les bureaux du gouvernement marocain, la Cour suprême, les bureaux du Premier ministre, le Ministère de Habous (responsable des organisations religieuses), un grand jardin et la mosquée El Fas. Le Mechouar, un lieu de rassemblement public, est le lieu d’importantes réunions. Traditionnellement, le roi résiderait dans l'ancien harem, mais le Roi Mohammed VI demeure dans sa résidence privée.

Météo

Température hiver = 8 - 18°C. Température été = 15 – 30°C.

Hivers doux et pluvieux et étés chauds avec un taux d’humidité élevé.

Festivals:

  • Festival Mawazine – Rythmes du Monde  Mai

Site web officiel du festival