banniere essaouira-01

Essaouira

In the 7th century BC, the Phoenicians founded a base on the site where Essaouira now stands, and in the 1st century BC Juba II made it a centre of manufacture of purple dye. The Portuguese established a trading and military bridgehead here in the 15th century, and named it Mogador. The town itself however was not built until around 1760, by the Alaouite sultan Sidi Mohammed Ben Abdallah (Mohammed III), who had decided to set up a naval base here. The town, the harbour and fortifications, in the style of European fortresses, were designed and built by Théodore Cornut, a renowned French architect who had worked for Louis XV.
Today, with the brilliant whiteness of its lime-washed walls, the city is a typical Moroccan town and one of the most enchanting places in the country. By virtue of its location on this stretch of the Atlantic coast, where trade winds prevail almost all year round, the town enjoys a particularly pleasant climate. It is a prime location for windsurfing, but has managed to escape mass tourism. A Mecca for hippies during the 1970’s, it is still an artists’ town and is very fashionable with independent travellers.

Port
The ‘Porte de la Marine’ leading to the docks, is crowned by a classical triangular pediment and dominated by two imposing towers flanked by four turrets. The rectangular ‘Sqala du Port’ is surmounted by battlements. From the 18th century, 40% of Atlantic sea traffic passed through Essaouira. It became known as the ‘Port of Timbuktu’, being the destination of caravans from sub-Saharan Africa bringing goods for export to Europe. Once one of Morocco’s largest sardine ports, Essaouira now provides a living for no more than 600 families. But it still has its traditional shipyard, where vessels are made out of wood. Visitors can also watch the fish auction and sample freshly grilled sardines.

Sqalas
Two sqalas (sea bastions) were built to protect the town: the Sqala de la Ville in the northwest, and the Sqala du Port in the south. The Sqala de la Ville consists of a crenellated platform featuring a row of Spanish cannons and defended at its northern end the North Bastion. This was built by Théodore Cornut on the site of Castello Real, a citadel constructed by the Portuguese around 1505. The esplanade (where scenes from Orson Welles’ film Othello were shot in 1949) commands a view of the ocean and the Îles Purpuraires. A covered passage leads from the bastion to the former munitions stores, which now house marquetry workshops.

Medina
As elsewhere in Morocco, the Medina in Essaouria is a labyrinth of narrow streets. The town itself, by contrast, has straight wide streets laid out at right angles to one another and cut by gateways. The huge market, the Souk Jdid, is divided into four by intersection of two thoroughfares. There is a daily souk for fish, spices and grains, and a souk for second-hand and collectable items, known as joutia.

Weather

Winter temperature = Average 15 °C Summer temperature  = Average 20 °C.

Windy coastal climate with high humidity level throughout the year

Festivals:

  • Gnaoua and Wold Music Festival  June 12-15 2014

http://www.festival-gnaoua.net/en/

banniere essaouira-01

Essaouira

Au 7ème siècle avant JC, les Phéniciens fondèrent une base sur le site où Essaouira se trouve aujourd'hui, et au 1er siècle avant JC, Juba II en fit un centre de fabrication de colorant violet. Les Portugais établirent un pont commercial et militaire ici au 15ème siècle, et le nommèrent Mogador.
La ville elle même ne fut pas construite jusqu’aux environs de 1760, par le sultan alaouite Sidi Mohammed Ben Abdallah (Mohammed III), qui  décida de créer une base naval ici. La ville, le port et les fortifications, dans le style des forteresses européennes, étaient conçus et construits par Théodore Cornut, un architecte français de renom, qui avait travaillé pour Louis XV.
Aujourd'hui, avec l'éclatante blancheur de ses murs chaulés, la ville est une ville typiquement marocaine et l'un des endroits les plus enchanteurs du pays. En vertu de son emplacement sur ​​cette partie de la côte atlantique, où les alizés prévalent presque toute l'année, la ville bénéficie d'un climat particulièrement agréable. Il s'agit d'un endroit phare pour la planche à voile, mais a réussi à échapper à du tourisme de masse. Une Mecque pour les hippies dans les années 1970, elle demeure encore la ville d'artistes et est très à la mode chez les voyageurs indépendants.

Port
La ‘Porte de la Marine’ menant aux quais, est couronné par un classique fronton triangulaire et dominée par deux imposantes tours flanquées de quatre tourelles. La rectangulaire 'Sqala du Port' est couronné de créneaux. Depuis le 18ème siècle, 40% du trafic maritime de l'Atlantique passe par Essaouira. Il fut connu comme ‘port de Tombouctou’, étant la destination des caravanes en provenance de l’Afrique sub-saharienne, qui transportèrent des marchandises pour l'exportation vers l'Europe. Autrefois l'un des plus grands ports de sardines du Maroc, Essaouira fait désormais vivre moins de 600 familles. La ville a encore son chantier naval traditionnel, où les bateaux en bois sont fabriqués. Les visiteurs peuvent également regarder la criée aux poissons et des échantillons de sardines fraîchement grillées. 

Sqalas
Deux sqalas (bastions de mer) étaient construites pour protéger la ville: la Sqala de la Ville au nord-ouest, et la Sqala du Port au Sud. La Sqala de la Ville se compose d'une plate-forme crénelée comportant une rangée de canons espagnols et a défendu à son extrémité nord le bastion Nord. Elle fut construite par Théodore Cornut sur ​​le site de Castello Real, une citadelle construite par les Portugais vers 1505. L'esplanade (où les scènes de Orson Welles film Othello ont été filmées en 1949) jouit d'une vue de océan et des  Îles Purpuraires. Un passage couvert relie le bastion à EH anciens magasins de munitions, qui sont maintenant des ateliers de marqueterie de la maison.

Medina
Comme partout ailleurs au Maroc, la Medina d’Essaouira est un labyrinthe de rues étroites. La ville elle-même en revanche, a de longues rues larges avec une disposition d’angles droits, coupé par des passerelles. L’énorme marché Souk Jdid, est divisé en quatre par intersection et deux artères. Il y a un souk quotidien pour le poisson, les épices et graines, et un souk pour des articles d’occasion et de collection, connu comme joutia.

Météo

Température hiver = Moyenne 15 °C. Température été = Moyenne 20 °C.

Climat côtier venteux avec un niveau d'humidité élevé tout au long de l'année.

Festivals:

  • Festival de Gnaoua  12-15 juin 2014

Site web officiel du festival