banniere casablanca

Casablanca

Casablanca is by far Morocco’s largest city and the economic and financial capital of the country. With 5.5million inhabitants, this amazing metropolis is the country’s first business centre, first port and first university centre. ‘Dar el-Beïda’ (meaning ‘white house’ – Casa Blanca in Spanish) is a city where skyscrapers stand in absolute contrast to the small shops of the medina, a city where tradition and modernity co-exist.

Hassan II Mosque
Casablanca’s most impressive highlight is the Hassan II Mosque, which can be seen from almost any point in the city. With a prayer hall that can accommodate 25.000 people at once, it is the second-largest religious building in the world after the mosque in Mecca. The complex covers 9 hectares (968.774 sq ft), two-third of it being built over the sea. The minaret, the lighthouse of Islam, is 200m (656 ft) high, and two laser beams reaching over a distance of 30km (18.5 miles) shine in the direction of Mecca. The building was designed by Michel Pinseau, 63.000 craftsmen worked on it, and it opened and 1993. With carved stucco, zellij tile work, a painted cedar ceiling and marble, onyx and travertine cladding, it is a monument to Moroccan architectural virtuosity.
The Hassan II Mosque is the only mosque in Morocco that can be visited on the inside by non-Muslims and for touristic purposes.

Old Medina and United Nations Square
At the beginning of the 20th century, Casablanca consisted only of the old medina, which today still contains 2 of the former 4 gates, a fortified bastion and the marabout (shrine) with the Tomb of Sidi Allal El-Kairouani, Casablanca’s first patron saint in 1350. In a labyrinth of small alleys and limed houses, you find a daily market with jewellers, handicraft shops, a food market and counterfeit clothing and bags.
On the Southside of the old Medina is the United Nations Square, built in 1920 by Joseph Marrast and formerly known as ‘La Place de France’. At the beginning of the 20th century no more than a market square, today it links the old and the new town with its tramway, banks, hotels, souvenir shops and brewery terraces.

Mohammed V Square
The Mohammed V Square is the location of the Prefecture, ‘Palais de Justice’ (governor’s house), the central post office, the French Consulate, banks and cultural organizations. The buildings, the park and the fountain show scenery of monumental French architecture combined with the Moorish sobriety.

Corniche - Ain Diab
Frequented night and day by the Casablanca people and the tourists, the Corniche of Ain Diab is a promenade on the seaside of Casablanca, where swimming pools, hotels, restaurants and fashionable nightclubs succeed each other. At the western end of Ain Diab’s beach is the Marabout of Sidi Aberrahman, only accessible at low tide and considered sacred by Muslim pilgrims.

Habous (New Medina)
In the 1930s French town planners laid out a new medina in order to address the problem of an expanding urban population and to prevent underprivileged citizens from being forced to settle in insalubrious quarters. This town was built in the traditional Arab style and at the same time obeying modern town planning and public health regulations. It contains many small shops with handicraft objects, flower-filled and arcaded streets and a former tribunal. On the fringes of the Habous quarter is the Royal Palace with its extensive Mediterranean gardens.

Anfa
Occupying a hill that overlooks Casablanca from the Northwest, Anfa is a residential quarter with wide flower-lined avenues where luxurious homes with terraces, swimming pools and lush gardens bring to mind Beverly Hills. Since the 1930s, villas in a great variety of styles have been built here, and they constitute a catalogue of successive architectural styles and fashions.

Rick’s Café
Between Casablanca’s port and the North side of the old Medina, is the world-famous Rick’s Café. Known as the scenery of the 1924 movie ‘Casablanca’, it is today an excellent restaurant that attracts curious travellers from all over the world who wish to experience the mythic ambiance of ‘Casablanca’.
http://www.rickscafe.ma/

Shopping

Twin Center:
Dominated by its two towers, which rise to a height of 100m (328 ft), this extensive complex is proof and symbol of the city’s economic importance. Built by Ricardo Bofill and Elie Mouyal, 1 tower contains a hotel, the other offices, shopping malls and a conference centre. By its outward appearance no less than in its infrastructure the building signals the economic role that Casablanca plays on both the national and international stage.

Morocco Mall:
At the western end of Ain Diab’s beach Morocco Mall opened its doors in 2011, one of Africa’s biggest shopping mall with over 600 brands operating in various activities, international cuisines and an amazing garden with musical fountains.
http://www.moroccomall.net/home

Anfa Place:
Located at the Corniche Boulevard at the AnfaPlace Living Resort, the Anfaplace Shopping Center is the new mall of reference in Casablanca that opened its doors in February 2013.
http://www.anfaplace.com/proyecto_eng.html

Weather

Winter temperature = 5 - 15°C. Summer temperature  = 20 – 30°C.

November – February some rainy weeks. High humidity level. Up to 10 hours sun per day.

Festivals:

  • Jazzablanca  April

http://www.jazzablanca.com/

banniere casablanca

Casablanca

Casablanca est sans aucun doute la plus grande ville du Maroc et la capitale économique et financière du pays. Avec 5,5 millions habitants, cette métropole étonnante est le premier centre d'affaires du pays, premier port et centre universitaire. 'Dar el Beida’ (signifiant ‘maison blanche’ - Casa Blanca en Espagnol) est une ville où les gratte-ciel sont en contraste absolu aux petits commerces de la médina, une ville où tradition et modernité coexistent.

Mosquée Hassan II

Le point phare de Casablanca est l’impressionnante mosquée Hassan II, que l’ont peut voir de presque chaque endroit en ville. Avec une salle de prière pouvant accueillir 25.000 personnes à la fois, c’est le deuxième plus grand bâtiment religieux dans le monde après la mosquée à la Mecque. Le complexe couvre neuf hectares, dont deux tiers sont construits sur la mer. Le minaret, le phare de l'Islam, fait 200m et deux faisceaux laser atteignent une distance de plus de 30km d’éclat dans la direction de la Mecque. Le bâtiment a été conçu par Michel Pinseau, 63.000 artisans ont y travaillé pour parvenir à l’ouverture en 1993. Avec ses stucs sculptés, du carrelage en zellige, un plafond en cèdre et du bardage en marbre, onyx et de travertin, c'est un monument à la virtuosité architecturale marocaine.
La mosquée Hassan II est la seule mosquée au Maroc qui peut être visitée à l'intérieur par des non-musulmans et pour des fins touristiques.

L’Ancienne Medina et la Place des Nations Unies

Au début du 20e siècle, Casablanca consistait uniquement de l'ancienne médina, qui aujourd'hui contient encore 2 de l'ancien 4 portes, un bastion fortifié et le marabout avec le tombeau de Sidi Allal El-Kairouani, premier Saint protecteur de Casablanca en 1350. Dans un labyrinthe de petites ruelles et de maisons chaulées, vous trouverez un marché quotidien avec les bijoutiers, boutiques d'artisanat, un marché alimentaire et de vêtements et sacs de contrefaçon.

Sur la partie sud de l'ancienne Médina se trouve la Place des Nations Unies, construit en 1920 par Joseph Marrast et autrefois connue comme 'La Place de France ». Au début du 20ème siècle pas plus qu’une place de marché, aujourd'hui la place relie l'ancienne et la nouvelle ville avec son tramway, ses banques, hôtels, boutiques de souvenirs et les terrasses des brasseries.

Place Mohammed V

La Place Mohammed V est le lieu de la Préfecture,  le Palais de Justice, la poste centrale, le consulat de France, les banques et les organismes culturels. Les bâtiments, le parc et la fontaine, montrent un décor de l'architecture française monumentale combiné avec la sobriété mauresque.

Corniche - Ain Diab

Fréquentée jour et nuits par les Casablancais et les touristes, la Corniche d’Ain Diab est une promenade sur la côte de Casablanca, ou les piscines, hôtels, restaurants et boîtes de nuit branchées se succèdent. A l'extrémité ouest de la plage d’Ain Diab se trouve le Marabout de Sidi Aberrahman, uniquement accessible à marée basse et considéré comme sacré par les pèlerins musulmans.

Habous (Nouvelle Medina)

Dans les années 1930, les urbanistes français établirent une nouvelle Medina afin de résoudre le problème d'une population urbaine croissante et à empêcher  que les citoyens défavorisés soient contraints de s'installer dans des quartiers insalubres. Cette ville a été construite dans le style traditionnel arabe et obéissait en même temps à l'urbanisme moderne et la règlementation santé publique. Elle contient de nombreuses petites boutiques avec des objets d'artisanat, des rues à arcades fleuries et un ancien tribunal. En marge du quartier des Habous, le Palais Royal, avec ses vastes jardins méditerranéens.

It contains many small shops with handicraft objects, flower-filled and arcaded streets and a former tribunal. Au bord du quartier Habous se trouve le Palais Royal avec ses grands jardins méditerranéens.

Anfa

Située sur une colline donnant sur Casablanca du Nord-Ouest, Anfa est un quartier résidentiel avec des avenues bordées de fleurs, ou des habitations luxueuses avec terrasses, piscines et des jardins verdoyants évoquent Beverly Hills. Depuis les années 1930 une grande variété de villas a été construite ici et elle constitue d’un catalogue des styles et des modes architecturales successives.

Rick’s Café

Entre le port de Casablanca et le côté Nord de l’ancienne Medina se trouve le célèbre Rick’s Café.
Connu comme le décor du film de 1924 'Casablanca', c’est aujourd'hui un excellent restaurant qui attire les voyageurs curieux des quatre coins du monde qui veulent découvrir l'ambiance mythique de ‘Casablanca’.
Site web officiel du Rick’s Café

Shopping

Twin Center:

Dominé par ses deux tours qui s'élèvent à une hauteur de 100m, ce grand complex est la preuve et le symbole de l'importance économique de la ville. Construit par Ricardo Bofill et Elie Mouyal, 1 tour contient un hôtel, l’autre des bureaux, centres commerciaux et un centre de conférence. Par son aspect extérieur pas moins que par l’infrastructure le bâtiment signale le rôle économique que joue Casablanca à la fois sur la scène nationale et internationale.

Morocco Mall:

 A l'extrémité ouest de la plage le Morocco Mall d’Ain Diab a ouvert ses portes en 2011, l'un des plus grand centre commercial de l'Afrique avec plus de 600 marques opérant dans diverses activités, une cuisine internationale et un magnifique jardin avec fontaines musicales.
Site web officiel du Mall

Anfa Place:

Situé sur le boulevard de la Corniche au ‘Anfaplace Living Resort’, le centre commercial Anfaplace est le nouveau centre commercial de référence à Casablanca qui a ouvert ses portes en février 2013.
Site web officiel d'Anfa Place

Météo

Température hiver = 5 - 15°C. Température été = 20 – 30°C.

Novembre – février quelques semaines pluvieuses. En été un taux d’humidité élevé. Jusqu’à 10 h de soleil par jour.

Festivals:

  • Jazzablanca  avril

Site web officiel du festival