banniere eljadida

El Jadida

The Portuguese fortification of Mazagan, now part of the city of El Jadida, 90-km southwest of Casablanca, was built as a fortified colony on the Atlantic coast in the early 16th century. It was taken back in 1769. The fortification with its bastions and ramparts is an early example of Renaissance military design. The surviving buildings include the cistern and the Church of the Assumption, built in the Manueline style of late Gothic architecture. The City of Mazagan - one of the early settlements of the Portuguese explorers in West Africa on the route to India - is an outstanding example of the interchange of influences between European and Moroccan cultures, well reflected in architecture, technology, and town planning.

 

Portuguese Cistern
The Portuguese built this construction in 1514 in a Manueline Gothic style. First an arsenal, then an armoury, it was converted into a cistern after the citadel was enlarged in 1541. It was then constantly fed by fresh water so as to guarantee the town’s water supply in the event of a prolonged siege. Rediscovered by chance in 1916 when a shopkeeper was knocking down a wall to enlarge his shop, it has fascinated many artists as well as visitors. Orson Welles used it as a location for several scenes of his film Othello, released in 1952.

Ramparts
Entry into the old town is through a gateway that leads to Place Mohammed Ben Abdallah. The walls were originally fortified with five bastions but only four of these were rebuilt after the Portuguese had destroyed the town as they escaped Sidi Mohammed in 1769. The ramparts walk leads to the Bastion de l’Ange, which commands a panoramic view over the old town. The Saint Sebastian Bastion was once the seat of the Inquisition’s tribunal and the prison.

Medina
The main street leads to the sea gate (Porta de Mar) giving access to the rampart walk. This gate, now blocked in, once linked the town to the seaside. Halfway along the main street is the entrance to one of El Jadida’s most interesting sights: the Portuguese Cistern. The Mellah (Jewish Quarter) has a deserted air: most of the Jewish community emigrated to Israel in the early 1950s.

Environs of El Jadida:

  • Mazagan Golf Resort – part of the Mazagan Beach Resort&Spa
  • Sidi Bouzid beach – about 5km (3miles) south to El Jadida
  • Oualidia beach – safe beach on Atlantic coast, good for beginning surfers
  • Oualidia Oyster Farm – Oyster Farm N°7 (since 1992) one of the most modern in Morocco

Weather

Winter temperature = 8 - 18°C. Summer temperature  = 20 – 20°C.

banniere eljadida

El jadida

Les fortifications portugaises de Mazagan, qui font aujourd’hui partie de la ville d’El Jadida, à 90 km au sud-ouest de Casablanca, furent édifiées comme colonie fortifiée sur la côte atlantique au début du XVIe siècle. La colonie fut reprise par les Marocains en 1769. Les fortifications, avec leurs bastions et remparts, constituent un exemple précoce de l’architecture militaire de la Renaissance. Les édifices portugais encore visibles sont la citerne et l’église de l’Assomption, construite dans le style manuélin (gothique tardif). La ville portugaise de Mazagan, l’un des premiers établissements en Afrique occidentale des explorateurs portugais qui faisaient route vers l’Inde, offre un témoignage exceptionnel des influences croisées entre les cultures européenne et marocaine, qui apparaissent clairement dans l’architecture, la technologie et l’urbanisme.

 

Citerne portugaise
Les Portugais construisirent cette construction en 1514 dans un style manuélin gothique. En premier lieu un arsenal, en suite une armurerie, ce fur converti en une citerne après que la citadelle fut agrandie en 1541. La citerne fut constamment alimentée d’eau fraiche, afin de garantir l’approvisionnement  d’eau pour la ville en cas d’un siège prolongé. Redécouvert par hasard en 1916 lorsqu’un commerçant abattit un mur pour agrandir son magasin, la le bâtiment a fascinée de nombreux artistes ainsi que des visiteurs. Orson Welles l’a utilisé comme décor pour plusieurs scènes de son film Othello, sorti en 1952.

Remparts
L’entrée dans l’ancienne ville est par une porte qui mène à la Place Mohammed Ben Abdallah. Les murs étaient initialement fortifiés avec cinq bastions, mais seule quatre ont été reconstruits après que les Portugais détruisirent la ville lorsqu’ils échappèrent Sidi Mohammed en 1769. La promenade des remparts mène au Bastion de l’Ange, qui commande une vue panoramique sur l’ancienne ville. Le Bastion Saint Sébastien fut autrefois le siège du tribunal de l’Inquisition et la prison.

Medina
La voie principale mène à la porte maritime (Porta de Mar), donnant accès à la promenade des remparts. Cette porte reliait autrefois la ville à la mer. A mi-chemin sur la rue principale se trouve l’entrée au monument phare d’El Jadida: la citerne portugaise.  Le Mellah (quartier juif) a un air déserté: la plupart de la communauté juive a émigré en Israël dans les années 1950.

Environs d’El Jadida

  • Mazagan Golf Resort – fait parti du Beach Resort&Spa
  • Plage Sidi Bouzid – environs 5km au Sud d’El Jadida
  • Plage Oualidia – plage sure sur la côte atlantique, bien pour les surfeurs débutants
  • Parc d’ostréiculture Oualidia – Parc N°7 (depuis 1992) l’un des plus modern au Maroc

Météo

Température hiver = 8 - 18°C. Température été = 20 – 30°C.

Hivers pluvieux et un été avec un taux d'humidité élevé