arrfoud

Erfoud & Merzouga

Before the development of the town began around 1930, the French had set up a military post here to watch over the Tafilalt Valley. The Berber tribes put up a long-drawn-out resistance to the establishment of French rule, and the valley was one of the last parts of southern Morocco to surrender. Erfoud’s checkerboard layout is a remainder of this military past. This peaceful town with its extensive palm grove is the base for tours of the Erg Chebbi Dunes. From the top of the eastern borj, a small bastion 3km (2miles) southeast of Erfoud, the view shows a vast plain of desert and palm groves.

Tafilalt Palm Grove
Stretching out along the bends of Wadi Rheris and Wadi Ziz, which run from Erfoud – the Tafilalt oasis nestles in a stretch of greenery – extending beyond Rissani. The oasis was once a welcome stopping place for caravans, as they arrived exhausted after weeks in the deserts. Today, the inhabitants rely on it for their livelihood: the 800.000 date palms that grow here are renowned for their fruit. In October, the souk at Erfoud overflows with dates of every variety. At the end of the date harvest a three day Date Festival takes place.

Rissani
This small town on the edge of the Sahara marks the end of the metalled road and the start of tracks into the desert. Rissani, built on the ruins of Sijilmassa, was once the capital of Tafilalt. The origins of Sijilmassa are as mysterious as the reasons for its decline. The former city contained hundreds of kasbahs and palaces; on the road to Erfoud, a few vestiges of these including the scant remains of walls, emerge from the sand.
The Rissani Souk is one of the most famous in the area. Donkeys, mules, sheep and goats are enclosed in corrals. Stalls are piled with shining pyramids of dates, as well as with vegetables and spices. Beneath roofs made of palm matting and narrow clay alleyways, jewellery, daggers, carpets, woven palm fibre baskets and pottery are laid out for sale. 

Mausoleum of Moulay Ali Cherif
South to Rissani stands the Mausoleum of Moulay Ali Cherif, where the father of Moulay Er Rachid, founder of the Alaouite dynasty, is laid to rest. The mausoleum was rebuilt in 1955, after it was damaged by a serious flooding of Wadi Ziz. A courtyard leads to the burial chamber, to which non-Muslims are not admitted. Behind the mausoleum are the ruins of the 19th century Abbar Ksar. This former residence once housed exiled Alaouite princesses, the widows of sultans and, protected by a double earth wall, part of the royal treasury. About 2km (1mile) from the mausoleum stands the Oulad Abdelhalim Ksar. It was built in 1900 for the elder brother of Sultan Moulay Hassan, who was made governor of the Tafilalt.

Er-Rachidia
Here the palm groves of the Ziz and Tafilalt begin, and the town also stands as the start of the road to the South. Er-Rachidia, also an administrative and military centre, was built by the French in the early 20th century, when it was known as Ksar Es Souk. Its present name was given in 1979 in memory of Moulay Rachid, the first of the Alaouites to overthrow Saadian rule in 1666. Many ksour (fortified villages) here were abandoned after 1960, when the Ziz broke its banks, causing serious floods and washing land away.

Blue Source of Meski
About 25km (14miles) south of Er-Rachidia we find the spring ‘La Source Bleue de Meski’, which runs underground for part of its course. The blue spring waters flow from a cave at the foot of a cliff into a pool built by the Foreign Legion. The water provides a natural swimming pool for the campsite in the palm grove. The cliff top offers a view of the oasis and the ruined ksar of Meski. The road to Erfoud also offers great views of the Ziz Valley and the oases of oulad Chaker and Aourfous.

MERZOUGA

The small Saharan oasis of Merzouga is famous for its location at the foot of the Erg Chebbi Dunes. These amazing dunes, which rise up out of the stony, sandy desert, extend for 30km (19miles), and reach a maximum height of 250m (820 ft). At sunrise or dusk, the half light gives the sand a fascinating range of subtle colours. Although they are nearer to Rissani, Merzouga and the Erg Chebbi dunes are easier to reach from Erfoud. Merzouga can be accessed only per 4WD and once on the spot a camel ride is the most enjoyable and authentic way to reach the top of the dunes.

Environs of Erfoud

  • Tinghir  – 145km (90 miles) halfway between Erfoud and Ouarzazate
  • Tinjedad  – 55km (34miles) between Erfoud and Tinghir
  • Todra Canyons  – 15km (9miles) from Tinghir

Weather

Winter temperature = 3 – 13 °C. Summer temperature = 25 - 40 °C.

Hot desert climate with very few rain throughout the year

Festivals:

ERFOUD

  • Dates Festival  October

IMILCHIL  (high Atlas mountains)

  • Moussem of the Engagements  September

arrfoud

Erfoud & Merzouga

Avant que le développement de la ville d’Erfoud commence autour de 1930, les Français avaient mis en place un poste militaire ici pour veiller sur la Valée Tafilalt. Les tribus berberes offrirent une résistance de longue haleine à l’établissement du régime français, et la vallée fut l’une des dernières parties du Sud du Maroc à se rendre. Le plan en damier d’Erfoud est un reste de ce passé militaire. Cette ville paisible avec sa vaste palmeraie est la base pour les visites des dunes Erg Chebbi. Du sommet du borj Est, un petit bastion 3km au sud-est d’Erfoud, la vue montre une vaste plaine de désert et de palmeraies.  

Palmeraie Tafilalt
S'étendant le long des méandres du Wadi Rheris et Wadi Zizi, venant d’Erfoud – l’Oasis de Tafilalt est niché dans un espace de verdure - s'étendant au-delà Rissani. L’oasis fut autrefois une halte accueillante pour les caravanes lorsqu’ils arrivèrent épuisées après des semaines dans le désert. Aujourd’hui les habitants en dépendant pour leur subsistance, les 800.000 palmiers dattiers qui poussent ici sont réputées pour leurs fruits. En octobre, le souk à Erfoud déborde de toutes les variétés de dattes. A la fin de la récolte des dattes, un festival de trois jours à lieu.

Rissani
Cette petite ville sur le bord du Sahara marque la fin de la route goudronnée et le début des pistes du désert. Rissani, construit sur les ruines de Sijilmassa, fut jadis la capitale de Tafilalt. Les origines de Sijilmassa sont aussi mystérieuses que les raisons de son déclin.  L’ancienne ville contenant des centaines de kasbahs et de palais, sur la route vers Erfoud certains de ces vestiges, y compris quelques restes des murs, émergent du sable. Le  souk de Rissani est l'un des plus célèbres dans la région. Ânes, mulets, moutons et chèvres sont placés dans des enclos. Des pyramides de dates sont entassées sur les étals, ainsi que des légumes et des épices colorées. Sous des toits de palme tressés et de ruelles étroites en terre battue, des bijoux, des poignards, des tapis, des paniers tissés en fibres de palmier et la poterie sont mis en vente.

Mausolée de Moulay Ali Cherif
Au sud de Rissani se trouve le mausolée de Moulay Ali Cherif, où le père de Moulay Er Rachid, fondateur de la dynastie Alaouïte, repose en paix. Le mausolée fut reconstruit en 1955, après qu’il fut endommagé par de graves inondations du Wadi Ziz. Une cour mène à la chambre funéraire, où seul les musulmans sont admis. Derrière le mausolée se trouvent les ruines du Ksar Abbar datant du 19ème siècle. Cette ancienne demeure abritait jadis des princesses alaouites éxilées, les veuves des sultans et, protégé par un double mur de terre, une partie de la trésorerie royale. A environ 2km du mausolée se trouve le Oulad Abdelhalim Ksar. Il a été construit en 1900 pour le frère aîné du sultan Moulay Hassan, qui fut nommé gouverneur de Tafilalt.

Er-Rachidia
Ici les palmeraies du Ziz et Tafilalt commencent et la ville indique aussi le début de la route vers le Sud. Er-Rachidia, également un centre administratif et militaire, fut construit par les Français au début du 20ème siècle, quand il fut connu comme Ksar Es Souk. Son nom actuel fut donné en 1979 à la mémoire de Moulay Rachid, le premier des Alaouites à renverser la domination Saadiens en 1666. Beaucoup de ksour (villages fortifiés) ici ont été abandonnés après 1960, lorsque les eaux du Ziz provoquèrent de graves inondations et emportèrent de grandes parties des terres.

Source Bleue de Meski
A environs 25km au sud d’Er Rachidia on trouve La Source Bleue de Meski, qui est partiellement souterraine. L’eau de la source bleue coule d’une grotte au pied de la falaise dans une piscine construite par la Légion Etrangère. L'eau offre une piscine naturelle pour le camping dans la palmeraie. Le sommet de la falaise offre une vue sur l'oasis et le ksar en ruine de Meski. La route vers Erfoud offre également de superbes vues sur la vallée du Ziz et les oasis d’Oulad Chaker et Aourfous.

MERZOUGA

La petite oasis saharienne de Merzouga est célèbre pour son emplacement au pied des dunes d'Erg Chebbi. Ces magnifiques dunes, sortant des pierres et du sable désertique, s’étendent sur 30km et atteignent une hauteur maximum de 250m. Au lever ou coucher du soleil, la pénombre donne au sable une fascinante gamme de couleurs subtiles. Bien qu'elles soient plus proches de Rissani, Merzouga et les dunes d'Erg Chebbi sont le plus faciles à atteindre à partir d'Erfoud. Merzouga est uniquement accessible par 4x4 et une fois sur place un tour de chameau est le moyen le plus agréable et authentique pour atteindre le sommet des dunes.

Environs d’Erfoud

  • Tinghir  – 145km à mi-chemin entre Erfoud et Ouarzazate
  • Tinjedad  – 55km entre Erfoud et Tinghir
  • Gorges Todra  – 15km de Tinghir

Météo

Température hiver = 3 – 13 °C. Température été = 25 - 40 °C.

Climat désertique avec très peu de pluie au cours de l'année.

Festivals:

ERFOUD

  • Festival des dates  octobre

IMILCHIL  (montagnes du Haut Atlas)

  • Moussem des Fiancailles septembre