banniere meknes-01

Meknes & Volubilis

Located between the fertile plain of the Rarb and the Middle Atlas, Meknes and Volubilis lie at the heart of an agricultural area that has been Morocco's grain store since ancient times. Their historical importance can be clearly seen in the Roman Ruins of Volubilis (Morocco's most important archaeological site) and the grandeur of the Moorish buildings in Meknes.

MEKNES

Today Moroco's fifth-largest city, Meknes was nothing more than a small town overshadowed by its neighbour and rival Fez until the reign of Moulay Ismaïl started in 1672. The sultan ambitiously set about building gates, ramparts, mosques and palaces, he conquered the El Badi Palace in Marrakesh and the ruins of Volubilis, and Meknes rose to the rank of imperial city.

Bab El Mansour
Bab El Mansour is a triumphal arch standing before the imperial city, piercing the walls of the Kasbah. Its construction started in 1672 during the reign of Moulay Ismaïl and the gate was completed by the sultan's son Moulay Abdallah in 1732. Of monumental proportions – about 16m (52ft) high while the arch has a span of 8m (26ft) – and distinguished for its decoration, Bab El Mansour is held to be the finest gate in Meknes, some even say in Morocco.

Dar el Ma, Lahri and the Royal Stables
Dar el Ma (the Water House) held the town's water reserves and was another of Moulay Ismaïl's grandiose projects. The huge building contains 15 rooms, each with a noria (water wheel), once worked on by the horses to draw underground water by means of scoops. Dar el Ma gives access to the Royal Stables and Lahri (a monumental building with 29 aisles, designed for storing grain), which are considered to be one of the sultan's finest creations.

Mausoleum of Moulay Ismaïl
Featuring a suite of three rooms, 12 columns and a central sanctuary where the great sultan lies, the Moulay Ismaïl mausoleum is in some aspects reminiscent of the Saadian Tombs in Marrakesh. The mausoleum was built in the 17th century and was remodelled in the 18th and 20th centuries. Moulay Ismaïl's wife and his son Moulay Ahmed Al Dahbi, as well as the sultan Moulay Abder Rahman (1822-59), are laid to rest in the burial chamber, which is decorated with stuccowork and mosaics.

Bab el Khemis and Mellah
Bab el Khemis is the main entrance of the former Mellah (Jewish quarter), built in the 17th century on a terrain offered by Moulay Ismaïl to a Jewish doctor who cured one of the princesses. Modern buildings have been built on the ruins of the former Jewish quarter and a new Mellah was built on the right of Bab el Khemis in the 20th century. The sultan Moulay Ismaïl had several inscriptions graved onto the gate: "I am the gate opened to all people, from East or West." and " I am the blithe door, by my glory, at the full moon in the sky. I was built by Moulay Ismaïl. Wealth and prosperity are graved on my front, I am surrounded by happiness. "

VOLUBILIS

The ancient town of Volubilis was settled and began to prosper under the Mauritanian kings, from the 3rd century BC to AD 40. Temples from this period, as well as a strange tumulus, have been uncovered. When Mauretania was annexed by the Roman emperor Claudius in AD 45, Volubilis was raised to the status of municipia (free town), becoming one of the most important cities in Tingitana. After Rome withdrew from Mauretania in the 3rd century, the city declined and it was inhabited by Christians until the site was Islamicized in 788 at the arrival of Idriss I.

The site was known from the 18th century, but it was not until the late 19th century that is was first investigated. Excavations resumed in 1915 and have continued almost uninterrupted since, although extensive areas still remain to be investigated. Although Volubilis is not as large as some other Roman towns, it shows how thoroughly Romanized Mauretania Tingitana had become. The site consists of remaining ruins showing the Roman inhabitants' daily lives:

  • The Triumphal Arch – overlooks plantations of cereals and olive trees

  • House of the Columns – arranged around a huge peristyle courtyard with a circular pool

Columns with twisted fluting and composite capitals front the grand reception room

  • House of the Cortège of Venus & House of the Bathing Nymphs – contains mosaics displaying scenes of Diana, Pegasus and the nymphs

  • Basilica – Apart from the triumphal arch, this was the only building whose ruins were still impressive when excavations began. This was a meeting place of senate as well as the commercial exchange and tribunal.

  • The Capitol – Of the original building dating from the early 3rd century, only the foundations remain. Public rites in honour of Jupiter, Juno and Minerva were performed here.

  • House of Orpheus – contains the remains of a large peristyle courtyard with a square pool, an oil press and hypocausts (under floor heating). The reception room shows the largest circular mosaics that have been discovered in Volubilis.

MOULAY IDRISS

The most spectacular sight of Moulay idriss is from the scenic route between Meknes and Volubilis. In a superb setting, the bright white town clings to two rocky outcrops between which rises the tomb of Idriss I. Descendant of Ali, son in law of the Prophet Mohamed, he founded the first Arab-Muslim dynasty in Morocco. The tombs of Idriss I is closed to non-Muslims, but from the terrace near the Mosque of Sidi Abdallah el Hajjam, there is a splendid view of the town and the mausoleum.

Weather

Winter temperature = 5 - 20°C. Summer temperature = 15 – 35°C.

Mild winters and above average annual humidity level

banniere meknes-01

Meknès & Volubilis

Situé entre la plaine fertile de la Rarb et le Moyen-Atlas, Meknès et Volubilis sont au cœur d'une région agricole qui a été le grenier à blé du Maroc depuis l'Antiquité. Leur importance historique se voit clairement dans les ruines romaines de Volubilis (site archéologique le plus important du Maroc) et la grandeur des bâtiments mauresques à Meknès.

MEKNÈS

Aujourd’hui la cinquième plus grande ville du Moroco, Meknès n'était rien de plus qu'une petite ville dans l’ombre de son voisin et rival Fès jusqu'à ce que le règne de Moulay Ismaïl commença en 1672. Le sultan ambitieux se mit à construire des portes, des bâtiments, des remparts, des mosquées et des palais, il a conquit le Palais El Badi à Marrakech et les ruines de Volubilis et Meknès grimpa au rang de ville impériale.

Bab El Mansour
Bab El Mansour est un arc de triomphe tenant devant la ville impériale, perçant les murs de la Kasbah. Sa construction débuta en 1672 sous le règne de Moulay Ismaïl et la porte fut complétée par son fils Moulay Abdallah en 1732. Ayant des proportions monumentales – environs 16m de hauteur  
tandis que l'arc a une portée de 8m – et distinguée par ses décorations, Bab El Mansour est considérée la plus belle porte de Meknès, certains disent même au Maroc.

Dar el Ma, Lahri et les écuries royales
Dar el Ma (la maison d’eau) garda les réserves d’eau de la ville et était l’un des grandioses projets de Moulay Ismaïl. L’immense immeuble contient 15 chambres, chacune avec une noria (roue à eau), sur laquelle les chevaux travaillèrent autrefois pour tirer de l’eau souterraine utilisant des écopes. Dar el Ma donne accès aux écuries royales et Lahri (un bâtiment monumental avec 29 allées, conçu pour entreposer le grain), qui sont considérés comme l'une des meilleures créations du sultan.

Mausoleé de Moulay Ismaïl
Contenant suite de trois pièces, 12 colonnes et un sanctuaire central où repose le grand sultan, le mausolée Moulay Ismaïl rappelle dans certains aspects les tombeaux Saadiens de Marrakech. Le mausolée a fut construit au 17ème siècle et fut remanié au 18ème et 20ème siècles. L'épouse de Moulay Ismaïl et son fils Moulay Ahmed Al Dahbi, ainsi que le sultan Moulay Abder Rahman (1822-1859), reposent dans la chambre funéraire, décorée de stucs et mosaïques.

Bab el Khemis et Mellah
Bab el Khemis est l'entrée principale de l'ancien Mellah (quartier juif), construite au 17ème siècle sur un terrain offert par Moulay Ismaïl à un médecin juif ayant guéri l’une des princesses. Les bâtiments modernes ont été construits sur les ruines de l'ancien quartier juif et un nouveau Mellah a été construit sur ​​la droite de Bab el Khemis au 20ème siècle. Le sultan Moulay Ismaïl a fait graver plusieurs inscriptions sur la porte: ‘Je suis la porte ouverte à tous les peuples, de l'Orient ou de l'Occident.’ Et "Je suis la porte joyeuse, par ma gloire, à la pleine lune dans le ciel. J'ai été construite par Moulay Ismaïl. La richesse et la prospérité sont gravées sur ma face, je suis entourée de bonheur.’

VOLUBILIS

L’ancienne ville de Volubilis fut établie et commença a prospérer sous les rois mauritaniens, du 3ème siècle av JC jusqu’en 40 après JC. Des temples de cette période, ainsi qu’un étrange tumulus, ont étés découverts. Quand la Mauritanie fut annexée par l’empereur romain Claudieus dans l’année 45, Volubilis fut elevé au rang de municipia (ville libre), devenant l’une des plus importantes villes de Tingitana. Après que Rome se retira de la Mauritanie au 3ème siècle, la ville déclina et fut habitée par des Chrétiens jusqu’à ce que la ville soit islamisée en 788 à l’arrivée d’Idriss I.

Le site fut était connu depuis le 18ème siècle, mais ce ne fut qu’en fin du 19ème siècle que l’on commença à l’étudier. Des excavations ont repris en 1915 et continuent depuis presque sans interruptions, bien que des vastes zones restent encore à être étudiées. Bien que Volubilis ne soit pas aussi grand que certaines anciennes villes romaines, elle montre à quel point Mauretania Tingitana été devenue romanisée. Le site se compose de restes des ruines montrant la vie quotidienne des habitants romains:

  • L'arc de Triomphe - domine les plantations de céréales et d'oliviers
  • Maison aux Colonnes - disposée autour d'une cour péristyle immense avec une piscine circulaire. Des colonnes torsadées et des chapiteaux composites devant le grand salon réceptif
  • Maison au Cortège de Venus & Maison au bain des Nymphes – contient des mosaïques montrant des scènes de Diana, Pegasus et les nymphes
  • Basilique - En dehors de l'arc de triomphe, ce fut le seul bâtiment dont les ruines étaient encore impressionnantes une fois excavations commencées. Ce fut un lieu de rencontre du sénat ainsi que l'échange commercial et tribunal.
  • Le Capitole - du bâtiment original datant du début du 3ème siècle, seules les fondations subsistent. Rites publics en l'honneur de Jupiter, Junon et Minerve ont été réalisés ici.
  • Maison d'Orphée - contient les restes d'une grande cour péristyle avec un bassin carré, une presse à huile et des hypocaustes (chauffage au sol). La salle de réception montre les plus grandes mosaïques circulaires ayant étés découvertes à Volubilis.

MOULAY IDRISS

La vue la plus spectaculaire de Moulay Idriss est de la route panoramique entre Meknès et Volubilis. Dans un magnifique cadre, la ville blanche et lumineuse s'accroche à deux affleurements rocheux entre lesquelles s'élève la tombe d’Idriss I. Descendant d’Ali, gendre du Prophète Mohamed, il fonda la première dynastie arabo-musulmane au Maroc. La tombe d’Idriss I est fermée aux non-musulmans, mais à partir de la terrasse près de la Mosquée Sidi Abdallah el Hajjam, on a une vue  splendide sur la ville et le mausolée.

Météo

Température hiver = 5 - 20°C. Température été = 15 – 35°C.

Taux d’humidité annuel supérieur à la moyenne.