banniere ouarzazat-01

Ouarzazate

Former garrison town of the French Foreign Legion, Ouarzazate was founded in 1928, having been chosen by the French as a strategic base from which to pacify the South. Located at an altitude of 1160m (3807ft) at the intersection of the Draa Valley and the Dadès Valley and with the Agadir region to the West, it is on the main route between the mountains and the desert.

Ouarzazate is a peaceful provincial town with wide streets, many hotels and municipal gardens.

Taourirt Kasbah
Ouarzazate's only historic building, the Taourirt Kasbah, stands as a monument to the large Glaoui family it once housed. At the beginning of the 20th century the Glaouia family was the lord of the South and controlled access to the High Atlas. They were the first to collaborate with the French in the expansion to the latter's rule in the South. Begun in the 18th century and renovated in the 19th, the Taourirt Kasbah has been undergoing restoration since 1994.

Next to the Kasbah is a former Berber village, which probably predates the Kasbah. The ksar (fortified village) with its narrow winding streets is inhabited by a busy population. The crafts centre opposite the Taourirt Kasbah offers carpets, stone carving, jewellery and pottery.

Atlas Film Studios
About 10 km (6miles) northwest to Ouarzazate, on the road to Marrakesh, are the Atlas Film Studios. Surrounded by high clay walls, the studios cover about 30.000m² (322920 sq ft) of desert and provide the livelihood of a considerable portion of the population of Ouarzazate. Over the last century many films have been shot in this region, including Bernardo Bertolucci's The Sheltering Sky, Martin Scortese's Kundun, Lawrence of Arabia, Babel, Gladiator and more. On the other side of the town, opposite the Taourirt Kasbah, are the Andromeda Italian Film Studios.

Kasbah Aït Benhaddou
About 30km (19miles) northwest of Ouarzazate, we find the Kasbah of Aït Benhaddou onto a pinkish sandstone hill. The picturesque village of Aït Benhaddou contains an impressive group of ochre clay kasbahs and has often been used as a film location. Since it was made a UNESCO World Heritage Site, some of its kasbahs have undergone restoration to their upper section. Today the Kasbah is inhabited by less than ten families.

Kasbah Tifoultout
We find the majestic Kasbah Tifoultout about 7km (4miles) northwest of Ouarzazate. Built of clay walls, the building was made on the orders of Pacha Glaoui in the 17th century. It was converted into a hotel in the 1960s to provide accommodation during the shooting of David Lean's Lawrence of Arabia. Offering great views from its terrace, it is now a restaurant and hostel.

Skoura – 40km (25miles) from Ouarzazate
The small town of Skoura is surrounded by an impressive palm grove, which was laid out in the 12th century by Almohad sultan Yacoub El Mansour. Some of the kasbahs are still partially inhabited and some are attached to private houses, but most inhabitants however, have moved into the breeze-bock villages that line the roads of Skoura.

The most beautiful kasbahs in southern Morocco are to be found here:

  • Ben Morro Kasbah – built in the 17th century and converted into a guesthouse after being completely restored
  • Amerdil Kasbah – once owned by the Glaoui family it dominates the wadi (oued), the interior has been restored and it is now open to visitors
  • Aït Abou – the oldest kasbah in the palm grove (1863) has 6 storeys with 25m (82ft) high walls and an amazing fruit orchard. Its outbuildings have been turned into a small B&B.
  • More Kasbahs: Aît Sidi El mati, Aït Souss, El Kebbaba and Dar Aïchil.

Environs of Ouarzazate

  • Draa Valley – 200km (124 miles) between Ouarzazate and Zagora
  • Zagora – about 170 km (105 miles) southeast to Ouarzazate
  • Tamegroute – 20km (13miles): ksar Tamegroute fortified village with historical library
  • El Kelaa M'Gouna – halfway between Ouarzazate and Tinghir. Yearly rose festival in May

Weather

Winter temperature = 5 - 20 °C. Summer temperature = 25 - 38 °C.

Hot desert climate with few rain throughout the year.

Festivals:

  • Rose Festival – Kelaa M'Gouna 90km (56miles) from Ouarzazate  May

banniere ouarzazat-01

Ouarzazate

Ancienne ville de garnison de la Légion étrangère française, Ouarzazate fut fondée en 1928, après avoir été choisi par les Français comme une base stratégique pour pacifier le Sud. Situé à une altitude de 1160m à l'intersection de la Vallée du Drâa et la Vallée du Dadès et la région d'Agadir à l'Ouest, Ouarzazate se trouve sur ​​la route principale entre les montagnes et le désert. C’est une ville de province paisible avec de larges rues, de nombreux hôtels et jardins municipaux.

Kasbah Taourirt
Le seul bâtiment historique de Ouarzazate, la Kasbah Taourirt, se présente comme un monument à la grande famille Glaouia qu’elle hébergeait autrefois. Au début du 20ème siècle la famille Glaouia était maître du Sud et contrôlait l’accès au Haut Atlas. Ils furent les premiers à collaborer avec les Français dans l'expansion de la domination de ce dernier dans le Sud. Commencée au 18ème siècle et rénovée au 19ème, la Kasbah Taourirt a été en cours de rénovation depuis 1994.
A côté de la Kasbah se trouve un ancien village berbère, qui précède probablement la Kasbah. Le ksar (village fortifié) avec ses rues étroites est habité par une population animée. Le centre d'artisanat en face de la kasbah Taourirt propose des tapis, des sculptures sur pierre, des bijoux et de la poterie.

Atlas Film Studios
Environs 10 nord-ouest de Ouarzazate, sur la route vers Marrakech, se trouvent les Studios Atlas.
Entouré de hautes murailles en argile, les studios couvrent environ 30.000m ² de désert et de fournissent les moyens de subsistance d'une partie considérable de la population de Ouarzazate. Au cours du siècle dernier de nombreux films ont été tournés dans cette région, y compris The Sheltering Sky de Bernardo Bertolucci, Kundun de Martin Scortese, Lawrence d’Arabie, Babel, Gladiateur et d’autres. A l’autre côté de la ville, en face le la Kasbah Taourirt, se trouvent les studios italiens Andromeda.

Kasbah Aït Benhaddou
Environs 30km nord-ouest de Ouarzazate, on trouve la Kasbah d’Aït Benhaddou sur une colline de grès rose. Le pittoresque village d'Aït Benhaddou contient un groupe impressionnant de kasbahs en argile ocre et a souvent été utilisé comme lieu de tournage. Depuis qu'il a été nommé site du patrimoine mondial de l'UNESCO, certains de ses kasbahs ont subi une restauration à leur partie supérieure. Aujourd'hui, la Kasbah est habitée par moins de dix familles.

Kasbah Tifoultout
On trouve la majestueuse Kasbah Tifoultout à environs 7km nord-ouest de Ouarzazate. Construite de murs en argile, le bâtiment fut construit sur les ordres de Pacha Glaoui au 17ème siècle. La Kasbah a été convertie en hôtel en 1960 pour fournir un hébergement pendant le tournage du film de David Lean Lawrence d’Arabie. Offrant de magnifiques vues de sa terrasse, c’est aujourd’hui un restaurant et une auberge.

Skoura – 40km de Ouarzazate
La petite ville de Skoura est entourée impressionnante palmeraie, aménagée au 12ème siècle par le sultan almohade Yacoub El Mansour. Certaines kasbahs sont encore partiellement habitées et d’autres attachée à des maison privées, mais la plupart des habitants ont cependant déménagés dans les villages longeant les routes de Skoura.
Les plus belles kasbahs du Maroc du Sud se trouvent ici:

  • Kasbah Ben Morro – construit au 17ème siècle et transformé en une maison d'hôtes après avoir été entièrement restaurée
  • Kasbah Amerdil  – autrefois la propriété de la famille Glaoui, il domine le wadi (l'oued), l'intérieur a été restauré et elle est désormais ouvert aux visiteurs
  • Aït Abou – la plus ancienne kasbah dans la palmeraie (1863) dispose de 6 étages avec des murs de 25m d’hauteur  et un verger de fruits étonnant. Ses dépendances ont été transformées en un petit B&B.
  • D’autres Kasbahs: Aît Sidi El mati, Aït Souss, El Kebbaba et Dar Aïchil.

Environs de Ouarzazate

  • Vallée du Draa – 200km entre  Ouarzazate et Zagora
  • Zagora – environs 170 km au sud-est de Ouarzazate
  • Tamegroute – 20km: ksar Tamegroute village fortifié avec une librairy historique  
  • El Kelaa M’Gouna – à mi-chemin entre Ouarzazate et Tinghir. Festival des roses annuellement en mai 

Météo

Température hiver = 5 - 20 °C. Température été = 25 - 38 °C.

Climat désertique chaud avec peu de pluie tout au long de l'année.

Festivals:

Festival des roses – Kelaa M'Gouna 90km de Ouarzazate  en moi de mai